Processing

by cathrynbauer

IMG_6255

                                            Fairy House at Annemarie Gardens in Lusby, Maryland

April 29th, 2017. I came in from several hours of gardening. It was lunchtime, and I was excited to see the perennials coming back; hot; enriched spiritually and emotionally by several hours in the yard; sweaty; thirsty; hungry; dirty; satisfied with what I’d accomplished; a little tired. But only one of those states was forefront in my mind, that of being hungry. Everything else just sort of hung around the back, in small print, with no embellishments.

This is the type of observation I’m presently making about myself. Small steps, small bits of awareness such as this one, then asking myself questions like this one: With all of what I’m feeling, why did it seem so important to relieve my hunger first? My years of diets did more harm than good.

 

