Whining All the Way to the Bank

by cathrynbauer

Monique making certain Ted's favorite daypack is well-pressed.

This had to be a workday.  I did have a moment of feeling I was the only one in the world who did not get to enjoy this beautiful day.  But I got to it and actually got a whole lot done.  One thing about my work is that it does frequently leave me with the sense that I have no problems.  Finished getting a couple of felony pleas ready to turn in tomorrow, one for a horrible child molestation case.  It is something to see these guys in court.  They all look so wormy and powerless in front of the judge.  Then I made really good progress on the trial testimony in the drunk driving case where the defendant was acquitted.  This was the first trial in the county that was affected by a very recent Supreme Court decision.  In Bullcoming v. New Mexico, the Supremes ruled that the individual who actually analyzed the defendant’s blood had, if possible, be made available to testify at trial.  Up to now, it’s customarily their supervisor or another designated laboratory manager-type who appears in court.  Suffice to say that this did work out in the defendant’s favor in this case.  Apparently word is getting out among the county’s defense attorneys, and the copy orders have been coming in thick and fast.  I assume they want it for educational purposes, learning from the winner how to make this new ruling work for their clients.  That’s why I may be whining, but, well, ka-ching.   The defendant was able to afford the best private counsel — did a brilliant and thorough job, and I will definitely think of him if someone asks for a recommendation — with whatever that counsel needed to win his case, e.g., an expert defense witness.  I can think of several public defenders I’ve worked with who would be on my short list if I were accused of a crime, but there would be nothing to guarantee I would be assigned one of them should I need the PD’s services.  And I am not at all certain that a public defender would able to hire the expert witness they had.  It’s more than a little sobering.  Even when I have reported depositions where both sides hired private counsel, I have very often seen that one attorney will be a great deal more experienced than the other.  If you hire counsel for some kind of dispute, very important to interview and otherwise vet them carefully to make sure they really can beat up the other guy.

Apart from work, I am relentlessly Harry Potter-brained.  Deathly Hallows II was just brilliant.  Ted is not a Potterphile, and he wants to see it again.  We recorded a series on the making of the movies.  What an achievement at so many levels, not the least choosing and successfully working with a gaggle of child actors, each absolutely perfect in their role, through their adolescence.  According to the program, Chris Columbus was notably skilled at working with the children.  The special effects are truly works of genius.  It never bothers me to see how the illusion is made.  If anything, the magic of human ingenuity, dedication, and skill enhances: how astounding that someone did that; there’s genuine magic.  And yes, I just started rereading the books all over again!

Speaking of “over again, “it all starts again tomorrow, sigh.  The one day I didn’t work, I managed Nia class and really not anything else.  Ka-ching and great personal satisfaction aside, I am often resentful that I have so little time and energy for anything that’s not work.  Being a court reporter is wonderful on so many levels, but I would really appreciate not having to work 55-hour weeks, typical for me.  Sigh.  Onward.

